Slashdot Items Tagged "programming"

Date / Time Story
Thursday December 08, 2016 @07:22PM Google Now Lets Developers Write Apps For the Assistant On Google Home
Thursday December 08, 2016 @03:47PM AI Will Disrupt How Developers Build Applications and the Nature of the Applications they Build
Tuesday December 06, 2016 @04:27PM Canada's Prime Minister Justin Trudeau Makes Game For Third Annual Hour of Code
Sunday December 04, 2016 @08:22PM Ask Slashdot: Have You Read 'The Art of Computer Programming'?
Thursday December 01, 2016 @09:48AM Google's New Public NTP Servers Provide Smeared Time
Monday November 28, 2016 @04:50PM AT&T Unveils DirecTV Now Streaming TV Service With Over 100 Channels
Sunday November 27, 2016 @03:17PM Ask Slashdot: Has Your Team Ever Succumbed To Hype Driven Development?
Friday November 25, 2016 @09:40PM O'Reilly Discounts Every eBook By 50%
Tuesday November 22, 2016 @11:57PM American Computer Scientists Grace Hopper, Margaret Hamilton Receive Presidential Medals of Freedom
Monday November 21, 2016 @09:29PM Slashdot Asks: Are You Ashamed of Your Code?
Wednesday November 16, 2016 @07:52PM FCC Abides By GOP Request To Stop What It's Doing, Deletes Everything From Meeting Agenda
Wednesday November 16, 2016 @11:42AM Google Joins Microsoft's .NET Foundation
Monday November 14, 2016 @04:46PM Charter Customer Sues Over Hidden Fees, Claims 'Massive Billing Fraud'
Monday November 14, 2016 @10:47AM Samsung Really, Really Wants Developers To Build Tizen Apps
Monday November 14, 2016 @07:50AM Microsoft is Bringing Visual Studio To Mac
Sunday November 13, 2016 @06:50PM More Code In Movies: Nmap Meets Snowden
Saturday November 12, 2016 @12:50AM How Stephen Wolfram Devised Interstellar Travel (And Code Samples) For 'Arrival'
Friday November 11, 2016 @05:29PM 'Here Be Dragons': The Seven Most Vexing Problems In Programming
Sunday November 06, 2016 @09:25PM Ask Slashdot: Why Are American Tech Workers Paid So Well?
Thursday November 03, 2016 @11:57PM Adobe Is Working On 'Photoshop For Audio' That Will Let You Add Words Someone Never Said
Thursday November 03, 2016 @01:36PM App Developers Spend Too Much Time Debugging Errors in Production Systems
Sunday October 30, 2016 @10:27PM Ask Slashdot: What Training Helps Older Programmers Most?
Friday October 28, 2016 @08:03PM Bad Code May Have Crashed Schiaparelli Mars Lander
Sunday October 23, 2016 @02:33PM 'Picat' Programming Language Creators Surprised With A $10,000 Prize
Saturday October 22, 2016 @11:04AM Rust Implements An IDE Protocol From Red Hat's Collaboration With Microsoft and Codenvy
Friday October 21, 2016 @03:14PM Russians Seek Answers To Central Moscow GPS Anomaly
Thursday October 20, 2016 @10:15AM China Overtakes the US in iOS App Store Revenue
Monday October 17, 2016 @04:51PM The Linux Foundation Helps Launch the JS Foundation
Sunday October 16, 2016 @05:26PM Google's Go Language Surges In Popularity
Thursday October 13, 2016 @06:44PM Google News Introduces Fact Check Feature -- Just In Time For the US Election
Thursday October 13, 2016 @06:06PM Google Creates AI Program That Uses Reasoning To Navigate the London Tube
Thursday October 13, 2016 @02:09PM Inventor of C Dennis Ritchie Honored With Second Death
Sunday October 09, 2016 @02:24PM Melinda Gates Was Encouraged To Use an Apple and BASIC. Her Daughters Were Not.
Sunday October 09, 2016 @01:55PM O'Reilly Gives Away Free Programming Ebooks
Saturday October 01, 2016 @05:49PM Are Flawed Languages Creating Bad Software?
Friday September 30, 2016 @10:38PM Oracle Formally Proposes That Java Adopt Ahead-of-Time Compilation
Thursday September 29, 2016 @07:06PM The Psychological Reasons Behind Risky Password Practices
Wednesday September 28, 2016 @06:21PM Commodore C64 Survives Over 25 Years Balancing Drive Shafts In Auto Repair Shop
Sunday September 25, 2016 @10:18PM Which Programming Language Is Most Popular - The Final Answer?
Friday September 23, 2016 @10:35PM A New Programming Language Expands on Google's Go
Thursday September 22, 2016 @03:44PM TypeScript 2.0 Released
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @04:31PM W3C Set To Publish HTML 5.1, Work Already Started On HTML 5.2
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @04:15PM W3C Set to Publish HTML 5.1, Work Already Started on HTML 5.2
Tuesday September 20, 2016 @04:11PM Microsoft Will 'Solve' Cancer Within The Next 10 Years By Treating It Like A Computer Virus, Says Company
Monday September 19, 2016 @01:15AM Google's New Angular 2.0 Isn't Compatible With Angular 1
Sunday September 18, 2016 @09:31PM Apple Releases Swift 3.0, 'Not Source-Compatibile With Swift 2.3'
Sunday September 18, 2016 @05:33PM Will Oracle Surrender NetBeans to Apache?
Saturday September 17, 2016 @05:04PM Code.org Disses Wolfram Language, Touts Apple's Swift Playgrounds
Thursday September 15, 2016 @05:55PM Microsoft Has More Open Source Contributors On GitHub Than Facebook and Google
Saturday September 10, 2016 @01:11PM Vandalism Detection Contest Sponsored For Wikidata
Friday September 09, 2016 @11:54PM Stephen Wolfram Reveals Ambitious Plan to Teach Computational Thinking
Friday September 09, 2016 @10:40PM Microsoft Hopes To Hire More Coders With Autism
Thursday September 08, 2016 @10:11AM Google To Buy Apigee For $625 Million To Expand Enterprise
Saturday September 03, 2016 @08:52PM QtCon Opens In Berlin
Saturday September 03, 2016 @01:25PM US Would Be 28th In 'Hacking Olympics', China Would Take The Gold
Thursday September 01, 2016 @04:47PM OpenBSD 6.0 Released
Thursday September 01, 2016 @10:01AM 400,000 GitHub Repositories, 1 Billion Files, 14TB of Code: Spaces or Tabs?
Tuesday August 30, 2016 @06:26PM Slashdot Asks: What Are Your Favorite Java 8 Features?
Tuesday August 30, 2016 @02:03PM Companies Are Developing More Apps With Fewer Developers
Monday August 29, 2016 @05:35PM C Programming Language Hits a 15-Year Low On The TIOBE Index
Tuesday August 23, 2016 @10:40PM Facebook Is Testing Autoplaying Video With Sound
Tuesday August 23, 2016 @05:22PM 20% of Scientific Papers On Genes Contain Conversion Errors Caused By Excel, Says Report
Monday August 22, 2016 @12:21AM Four Code Bootcamps Are Now Eligible For Government Financial Aid
Thursday August 18, 2016 @03:27PM The $5 Onion Omega2 Gives Raspberry Pi a Run For Its Money
Wednesday August 17, 2016 @05:11PM Mozilla To Add Screenshot Sharing Feature To Firefox Test Pilot Program
Tuesday August 16, 2016 @03:15PM Windows UAC Bypass Permits Code Execution
Monday August 15, 2016 @06:06PM Ask Slashdot: What Are Some Bad Programming Ideas That Work?
Sunday August 14, 2016 @03:57PM Billionaire Launches Free Code College in California
Sunday August 14, 2016 @03:18PM Has The NSF Automated Coding with ExCAPE?
Saturday August 13, 2016 @04:57PM One In Five Vehicle Software Vulnerabilities Are 'Hair On Fire' Critical
Wednesday August 10, 2016 @06:07PM Linux Trojan Mines For Cryptocurrency Using Misconfigured Redis Servers
Wednesday August 10, 2016 @05:37PM Microsoft Accidentally Provides Example of Dangers of Encryption 'Back Doors'
Monday August 08, 2016 @06:26PM White House Releases Federal Source Code Policy To Help Government Agencies Go Open Source
Monday August 08, 2016 @03:00PM 'Faceless Recognition System' Can Identify You Even When You Hide Your Face
Friday August 05, 2016 @01:23PM Kids Can Now Learn To Code With Pocky, the Delicious Japanese Snack
Tuesday August 02, 2016 @11:18PM Interviews: Ask Ruby on Rails Creator David Heinemeier Hansson a Question
Tuesday August 02, 2016 @05:29PM Seymour Papert, Creator of the Logo Language, Dies At 88
Sunday July 31, 2016 @10:30AM C Isn't The Most Popular Programming Language, JavaScript Is
Saturday July 30, 2016 @05:50PM Famed Security Researcher 'Mudge' Creates New Algorithm For Measuring Code Security
Wednesday July 27, 2016 @02:43PM C Top Programming Language For 2016, Finds IEEE's Study
Monday July 25, 2016 @05:49PM Vine's Source Code Was Accidentally Made Public For Five Minutes
Sunday July 24, 2016 @02:06PM Programming Language Gurus Converge on 'Curry On' Conference
Friday July 22, 2016 @10:57PM Ask Slashdot: When Do You Include 'Unnecessary' Code?
Thursday July 21, 2016 @01:21AM The Slashdot Interview With Larry Wall
Saturday July 16, 2016 @08:33PM How (And Why) FreeDOS Keeps DOS Alive
Friday July 15, 2016 @01:04AM Null Island: The Land of Lousy Directional Data
Wednesday July 13, 2016 @12:13PM 90% Of Software Developers Work Outside Silicon Valley
Tuesday July 12, 2016 @06:30PM Mozilla Will Ship Its First Rust Component In Firefox 48
Tuesday July 12, 2016 @03:36PM Linus Torvalds In Sweary Rant About Punctuation In Kernel Comments
Sunday July 10, 2016 @09:26PM Ask Slashdot: How Often Do You Switch Programming Languages?
Sunday July 10, 2016 @11:02AM Assembly Code That Took America to the Moon Now Published On GitHub
Saturday July 09, 2016 @04:12PM TIOBE's Language-Popularity Index Sees A New Top 10 Language: Assembly
Friday July 08, 2016 @04:35PM Mesa 12.0 Released With OpenGL 4.3 Support, Intel Vulkan and More
Friday July 08, 2016 @12:20PM Oracle Says It Is 'Committed' To Java EE 8 -- Amid Claims It Quietly Axed Future Development
Thursday July 07, 2016 @05:58PM Debian Founder's 2015 Death Ruled A Suicide
Tuesday July 05, 2016 @04:57PM Man Builds Giant Homemade Computer To Play Tetris
Monday July 04, 2016 @04:29PM MIT's Swarm Chip Architecture Boosts Multi-Core CPUs, Offering Up To 18x Faster Processing
Saturday July 02, 2016 @12:53PM How Oracle's Business As Usual Is Threatening To Kill Java
Saturday July 02, 2016 @11:39AM Oracle May Have Stopped Funding and Developing Java EE
Friday July 01, 2016 @11:38PM Age-Discrimination Suit Against Google Seeks Class Action For Engineers
Friday July 01, 2016 @10:12AM Ruby On Rails 5.0 Released
Wednesday June 29, 2016 @06:25PM DMCA Notices Remove 8,268 Projects On Github In 2015
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @10:46PM Clinton Tech Plan Reads Like Silicon Valley Wish List
Monday June 27, 2016 @11:37PM AI Downs 'Top Gun' Pilot In Dogfights
Monday June 27, 2016 @02:50PM Google Launches 'Project Bloks' Toys To Teach Kids To Code
Monday June 27, 2016 @12:07PM .NET Core 1.0 Released, Now Officially Supported By Red Hat
Sunday June 26, 2016 @01:51PM New C++ Features Voted In By C++17 Standards Committee
Saturday June 25, 2016 @04:33PM ECMAScript 2016: New Version of JavaScript Language Released
Saturday June 25, 2016 @04:02PM ECMAScript 2016: New Version of JavaScript Language Released
Saturday June 25, 2016 @09:41AM Java, PHP, NodeJS, and Ruby Tools Compromised By Severe Swagger Vulnerability
Thursday June 23, 2016 @04:26PM HTML5 Ads Aren't That Safe Compared To Flash, Experts Say
Thursday June 23, 2016 @12:56PM Google Launches Android Programming Course For Absolute Beginners
Tuesday June 21, 2016 @03:32PM MSI and ASUS Accused of Sending Reviewers Overpowered Graphics Cards
Tuesday June 21, 2016 @02:32PM Elon Musk's Open Source OpenAI: We're Working On a Robot For Your Household Chores
Thursday June 16, 2016 @06:07PM Microsoft Open-Sources 'Checked C,' A Safer C Version
Thursday June 16, 2016 @05:07PM Microsoft Open-Sources Checked C, a Safer Version of C
Tuesday June 14, 2016 @12:19PM Developer Accuses Apple Of Stealing His Breathe App
Tuesday June 14, 2016 @07:53AM Apple Introduces New File System AFPS With Tons Of 'Solid' Features
Monday June 13, 2016 @03:21PM Programmer Automates His Job For 6 Years, Gets Fired, Realizes He Has Forgotten How To Code
Monday June 13, 2016 @02:58PM Apple Introduces Swift Playgrounds App To Teach Kids To Code
Monday June 13, 2016 @02:45PM Apple Announces iOS 10, watchOS 3, and new features for tvOS
Sunday June 12, 2016 @10:10AM Interviews: Ask Perl Creator Larry Wall a Question
Saturday June 11, 2016 @05:36PM Interviews: Ask Perl Creator Larry Wall a Question
Friday June 10, 2016 @08:35PM jQuery 3.0 Stops Supporting Internet Explorer Workarounds
Friday June 10, 2016 @05:35PM Ready CEO: Coding Snobs Are Not Helping Our Children Prepare For The Future
Friday June 10, 2016 @05:31PM Facebook Now Lets Users Comment With a Video
Friday June 10, 2016 @08:50AM Visual Studio 2015 C++ Compiler Secretly Inserts Telemetry Code Into Binaries
Wednesday June 08, 2016 @03:00PM Slashdot Asks: Is the App Boom Over?
Tuesday June 07, 2016 @05:27PM Tor Developer Jacob Appelbaum Allegedly Intimidated Victims Into Silence and Anonymity
Monday June 06, 2016 @11:54PM Password Autocorrect Without Compromising Security
Friday June 03, 2016 @07:39PM Python/Unix Hybrid Demoed at PyCon
Thursday June 02, 2016 @07:49PM Elon Musk: 'One In Billions' Chance We're Not Living In A Computer Simulation
Thursday June 02, 2016 @10:51AM Apple Releases First Preview of Swift 3.0
Thursday June 02, 2016 @12:20AM Bill Gates: AI Is The 'Holy Grail'
Saturday May 28, 2016 @02:45PM Apple CEO Tim Cook: I'd Require All Children To Start Coding In 4th Grade
Saturday May 28, 2016 @12:30PM Op-ed: Oracle Attorney Says Google's Court Victory Might Kill the GPL
Saturday May 28, 2016 @08:20AM Department of Homeland Security Still Uses COBOL
Friday May 27, 2016 @04:57PM Google Boosts Mobile Web Speed On Apple Devices With Accelerated Mobile Pages
Thursday May 26, 2016 @03:30PM Android Is 'Fair Use' As Google Beats Oracle In $9 Billion Lawsuit
Thursday May 26, 2016 @01:02AM American Schools Teaching Kids To Code All Wrong
Tuesday May 24, 2016 @04:16PM Pastejacking Attack Appends Malicious Terminal Commands To Your Clipboard
Tuesday May 24, 2016 @04:00PM Pastejacking Attack Appends Malicious Terminal Commands to Your Clipboard
Monday May 23, 2016 @03:21PM September: Netflix Will 'Become Exclusive US Pay TV Home of Films From Disney, Marvel, Lucasfilm and Pixar'
Sunday May 22, 2016 @06:37PM Code Quality Predicted Using Biometrics
Sunday May 22, 2016 @01:22PM Microsoft Urged to Open Source Classic Visual Basic
Sunday May 22, 2016 @11:11AM Ask Slashdot: Have You Migrated To Node.js?
Saturday May 21, 2016 @04:15PM Node.js Now Runs COBOL and FORTRAN
Saturday May 21, 2016 @11:46AM 'Eat, Sleep, Code, Repeat' Approach Is Such Bullshit
Thursday May 19, 2016 @03:23PM Humanoid 'Pepper' Robot Needs US Android Programmers
Tuesday May 17, 2016 @03:51PM Theoretical Breakthrough Made In Random Number Generation
Monday May 16, 2016 @11:58PM Twitter To Stop Counting Photos And Links In 140-Character Limit
Friday May 13, 2016 @04:50PM Google Devs Planing Flash's Demise With New "HTML5 by Default" Chrome Setting
Thursday May 12, 2016 @03:37PM Google Open-Sources SyntaxNet Natural-Language Understanding Library, Parsey McParseface Training Model
Thursday May 12, 2016 @01:04PM Linux Is the Largest Software Development Project On the Planet: Greg K-H
Wednesday May 11, 2016 @12:31PM 'I Know How To Program, But I Don't Know What To Program'
Tuesday May 10, 2016 @07:08PM Open Source Artificial Pancreas Helps Engineer's Son Survive With Type 1 Diabetes
Saturday May 07, 2016 @02:29PM Researchers Are Reconstructing Babbage's Analytical Engine
Saturday May 07, 2016 @01:07PM Researcher Writes A Machine Language For The Universe
Tuesday May 03, 2016 @05:36PM Facebook Paid $10,000 To A 10-Year-Old For Hacking Instagram
Tuesday May 03, 2016 @01:47PM Prince Quietly Helped Launch a Coding Program For Inner City Youth
Tuesday April 26, 2016 @03:55PM Inside 'Emojigeddon': The Fight Over The Future Of The Unicode Consortium
Tuesday April 26, 2016 @02:41PM Node.js Version 6 Released With LTS
Sunday April 24, 2016 @07:46PM Interview With Python Creator Guido Van Rossum
Sunday April 24, 2016 @01:03PM Slashdot Asks: Have You Experienced Ageism?
Wednesday April 20, 2016 @04:49PM Comcast To Allow TV Customers To Ditch Set-Top Box
Saturday April 16, 2016 @11:46AM That Man Who 'Deleted His Entire Company' With a Line of Code? It Was a Hoax
Friday April 15, 2016 @05:45PM MIT Bug Finder Uncovers Flaws In Web Apps In 64 Seconds
Friday April 15, 2016 @12:58PM Apple Considering Google-Like 'Paid Search' On App Store
Friday April 15, 2016 @09:14AM Microsoft Sending Minecraft To Summer School
Thursday April 14, 2016 @10:42AM Man Deletes His Entire Company With One Line of Bad Code
Tuesday April 12, 2016 @07:13PM Facebook's Account Kit Login System Works Via Phone Numbers, No Passwords Needed
Tuesday April 12, 2016 @04:40PM Jigsaw Ransomware Deletes Your Files If You Don't Pay Or When You Reboot Your PC
Tuesday April 12, 2016 @03:25PM The Future of Firefox is Chrome
Tuesday April 12, 2016 @01:26PM Facebook Announces 'Surround 360' Open Source VR Camera
Tuesday April 12, 2016 @12:36PM Facebook Launches 'Agents On Messenger' Platform With Chatbots
Monday April 11, 2016 @09:45PM Slashdot Asks: What Are Some Insults No Developer Wants To Hear?
Monday April 11, 2016 @06:12PM Google Developers Create API For Direct USB Access Via Web Pages
Friday April 08, 2016 @07:51PM UbuntuBSD Is Looking To Become An Official Ubuntu Flavor
Friday April 08, 2016 @01:08PM Opinion: DevOps Is Dead
Thursday April 07, 2016 @05:28PM Google Launches Android Studio 2.0 With Instant Run, Faster Android Emulator, and Cloud Test Lab
Thursday April 07, 2016 @04:24PM Google May Adopt Apple's Swift Programming Language For Android, Says Report
Wednesday April 06, 2016 @03:57PM Computer Created A 'New Rembrandt' After Analyzing Paintings
Wednesday April 06, 2016 @06:29AM People Feel Weird About Touching Robot Butts, Researchers Find
Tuesday April 05, 2016 @05:20PM Magic Kinder Android App Lets Strangers Send Images, Videos To Your Kids
Monday April 04, 2016 @05:27PM TSA Paid $1.4 Million For Randomizer App That Chooses Left Or Right
Sunday April 03, 2016 @10:33AM Head of Oracle Linux Moves To Microsoft
Friday April 01, 2016 @12:57PM Red Hat Expands Red Hat Developer Program With No-Cost Red Hat Enterprise Linux
Thursday March 31, 2016 @08:21PM PHP, Python and Google Go Fail To Detect Revoked TLS Certificates
Thursday March 31, 2016 @06:47PM PHP, Python and Google Go Fail to Detect Revoked TLS Certificates
Thursday March 31, 2016 @11:29AM Microsoft Makes Xamarin Free In Visual Studio, Will Open Source Core Xamarin Tech
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @07:13PM Microsoft Extends Its Windows Hello Login Security Features To Apps and the Web
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @06:44PM Microsoft Launches Cognitive Services Based On Project Oxford and Bing
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @03:07PM Microsoft Unlocks the Ability To Turn Xbox One Consoles Into 'Development Kits'
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @01:01PM Microsoft Launches Bot Framework To Let Developers Build Their Own Chatbots
Wednesday March 30, 2016 @12:28PM Apple's New Safari Technology Preview Browser Is Aimed At Web Developers
Tuesday March 29, 2016 @08:55PM Torvalds' Secret Sauce For Linux: Willing To Be Wrong
Tuesday March 29, 2016 @04:49AM 'My Heroic and Lazy Stand Against IFTTT'
Monday March 28, 2016 @11:48PM New NASA Launch Control Software Late, Millions Over Budget
Monday March 28, 2016 @07:27PM Microsoft Finally Ships $8,999 Surface Hub
Monday March 28, 2016 @04:07PM Fredkin Gate Breakthrough Brings Quantum Computing Within Closer Reach